Seahorses

Under the sea are these amazing creatures called seahorses and sea dragons.  The Oklahoma City Zoo doesn’t have any sea dragons, but they have some gorgeous seahorses.

IMG_5975

I could stand there and watch them all day, and I would, too, if there were fans blowing the air around inside the Aquaticus. It’s so stuffy and still and warm in there I can never stay as long as I’d like. And these pretties lure me back no matter how stifling the building is.

IMG_5961

They drift along, meeting up and wrapping their tails around one another, or anchoring themselves to the same link in the chains.

I imagine they gather on stoops to pass along the juiciest bits of gossip.

“Did you hear that Cooper over there has a pouch full of babies?”

“No, really?  Awww, someone’s gonna be a dad!”

“Well, I think we have quite enough seahorses in here!”

“Myrtle, you never want more seahorses.”

“And why should I?  Do you know how baby seahorses are made? Do you?”

Henry and Abby chuckle, their eyes meeting and parting shyly. Henry also has a pouch of seahorse babies, but they weren’t ready to share the news just yet. It was their first time, after all.

Leave a Reply

